20 October, 2012

On Saturday 20 October, 136 people celebrated their 20 year reunion by watching the sunset over Melbourne at Eureka 89. This was a spectacular venue for our first reunion since we have graduated. There were graduates who had travelled from Ireland, UK, Canada, New Zealand and from interstate. Apologies were accepted from these countries as well as USA, Malaysia and even Ethiopia!

17 March, 2012

The UMMS graduating Medical class of 1997 gathered at University House to celebrate their inaugural reunion on the 17th of March 2012.  21 years after embarking on the medical course together and 15 years after graduation, over 120 attendees gathered from far and wide, interstate and overseas, to celebrate the auspicious occasion.

The Class of 1982 30th year reunion was a great success, held on campus at University House in March 2012.

I’m sure they all ask this, but has it really been 40 years? Yes it has and the elapsed time brings with it challenges to find everyone. We found most, and 69 people attended our scientific meeting at the newly completed Melbourne Brain Centre in Parkville.  We had a series of five presentations and a panel discussion. The morning started with Jim Best, now Professor of Medicine and Head of the Medical School, giving us an entertaining version of the 150-year history of the school.

10 November, 2012

As usual the main function was held on the first Saturday after Melbourne Cup Day and it took place at the Royal South Yarra Lawn Tennis Club. A group photograph of the 1952 graduates was taken before we sat down. The food and wine was superb and the service was excellent.

17 October, 2012

The reunion for the 67th year after graduation of the medical year of 1945 was held at the home of Jim and Lois Keipert on October 17, 2012.

We have fifteen surviving members of whom 12 accepted the invitation to attend. Unfortunately Kit Critchley and Don Hewson were unable to attend at the last moment.

Present were Joan Hosking, Iris Leber, Ian Mackay, Des Prentice, Donal Rush, Kurt Schwarz, Stathy Shannos, Michael Shoobridge, Eric Taft and Jim Keipert.